IGNORED

Moyes: I'll Take Responsibility But It's Not My Fault

Louis

http://www.mirrorfoo...icle199597.html

David Moyes insists he predicted Everton's current doomsday scenario – but was powerless to stop it occurring.

A lack of cash in the summer forced the Toffees boss to go into the campaign light on numbers and heavy on hope.

But Moyes (right) has watched with a mixture of anger and frustration as his players have dropped like flies so far this season.

The crisis hit its lowest point when his injury-ravaged team crashed to their record European defeat, losing 5-0 to Benfica on Thursday.

The Scot refuses to blame the club's moneymen for Everton's current predicament, although he is pleading with them to make sure it never happens again.

Moyes admitted: "It is not a surprise. We can't turn away and say we didn't know this was coming.

"We can't turn away and say we didn't know we would have injuries at the start of the season.

"As a manager I take full responsibility, but I have to say I have been letting the people who need to know that this is the situation.

"What none of us could see was the extra injuries to Phil Neville and Steven Pienaar.

"I knew it would happen, but finances dictated what went on in the summer and that was evident in that most of our business was done in the last four days of the transfer window.

"I will take responsibility for it, but I am not just taking this and doing nothing about it. I am passing it on as well."

Moyes was without 11 first-team players in Portugal and his nightmare will continue today, with Russian winger Diniyar Bilyaletdinov added to the list.

Lucas Neill and John Heitinga were ineligible for the Benfica defeat and are back in the reckoning for today's clash with Bolton.

But Moyes has warned Everton's fans not to expect an instant recovery.

He added: "I think the recovery this year might take longer than it has in the past because of the kind of injuries we have.