IGNORED

Martinez confirmed as new manager

Vitor Periera

In April, Francisco Junior told Portuguese media that Vitor Pereira would be a good choice for Everton.

http://www.abola.pt/nnh/ver.aspx?id=394496

Also in April, Pereira commented on moving to Everton:

Translated: "I'm currently a proud FC Porto manager. We will assess the defined objectives at the end of the season. The club and I will decide accordingly."

http://www.abola.pt/nnh/ver.aspx?id=394888

Today, the Daily Mail are linking him.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2320960/Everton-line-Porto-boss-Vitor-Pereira-contender-replace-David-Moyes.html

Vitor Pereira is ready to follow his close friend Andre Villas-Boas into English football, in a development that will alert Everton, with David Moyes set to join Manchester United.

Like Moyes, 44-year old Pereira is out of contract this summer and unsure about signing a new deal, despite two hugely successful seasons since succeeding Villas-Boas as Porto coach.

Vitor Pereira would be my second choice if Roberto Martinez refused to sign for us. I've watched the Portuguese league almost every weekend this year (especially Porto) so I know quite a bit about him.

As it stands he could still win the Portuguese league if he manages to beat Benfica at the weekend and he also managed to get FC Porto into the last 16 of the UEFA Champions League this season when they were defeated by a narrow margin against Malaga.

He seems like a Portuguese version of Martinez if I'm being honest. Whenever I've watched Porto they play attacking football (which is what we all want) and due to them being in the Champions League he obviously has a lot of experience in the major competitions we are aiming to take part in.

I'd be more than happy with him as our new boss - and he could even bring Joao Moutinho with him. wub.png