IGNORED

Another damn Yankee :)

Ghoat

From the soccer "hotbed" of Montgomery, Alabama, which I *think* has 3 other Everton fans.....

Played from early years, both daughters have played since they were 5 (one just went off to college), have been a ref for 14 years (up to U-19) but for some reason never really enjoyed on TV, or cared for EPL until until 3-4 years ago. Maybe just lack of TV coverage in US.

Boring intro on why I became an Evertonian -

Started following Everton in 2013, Martinez's first season, so I am a bit of a newbie compared to y'all. I got into FIFA 13 or 14 don't remember, and eventually began trying to find a team I liked. That's became Everton for several reason - none of which involved Tim Howard. I liked the colors, I liked the "blue collar" culture, not a flashy team that bought success, not a bandwagon team that most Americans latch on to etc...And the more I learned and watched, the more hooked I became. Have hardly missed a game in last 2+ years. My Saturday/Sunday morning routine is now "Eggs and Everton" - up to watch kickoff (usually with a hangover) at 9am, 6am or 1130am if I am lucky!

I'll say this, which may amuse some - don't underestimate the educational value of FIFA. I know the game, tactics, officiating etc....but for a 'Merican, the "business side" of professional football is like nothing we understand from US professional or collegiate sports. It's not just for learning the players, leagues etc...but transfer fees, aggregate scores, relegation, qualification for Europa/Champion, promotion, multiple Cups, away goals, replays...OMG WTF??? But once that's all understood...hooked for life!

Oh, and damn Barkley for changing to 8, now I'm going to have to order new gear...

Nice to meet you Ghoat.