IGNORED

SKY and Football

leoncrosby

I’m currently a student at John Moores University in my 3rd year studying “Fans perception of the impact broadcasting has had on spectator interaction with the English Premier League”. If you would like to contribute to the study findings please follow the link below and complete the questionnaire (Please note al applicants must be 18 years old and above and live currently live within the UK)

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/YD7535R

Sky didn't kill it

The clubs did.

Everton were one of the handful of clubs that wanted a breakaway league and to go with ITV money (keeping it all for themselves).

ALL the clubs wanted 'TV money', but the majority went for the Sky deal instead.

Sky have done THEIR jobs exceptionally well, it's the clubs who haven't managed the money properly. They've had a fortune handed to them, and they've largely blown it.

Club owners were neanderthal morons in the 80s and little has changed. The majority of football clubs are still a shambles behind the scenes.

What SKY did (and possibly ITV may have done, we'll never know) was show that the traditional thinking (that matchday receipts) was where a club made it's money was outdated, and simply incorrect. Clubs failed to realise that the 40K week in week out crowd was a finite number, with little prospect of expanding or paying much more than they already did. Sky (along with Premier League) showed that the sport was bigger than any single club, and that marketing the 'league' to millions of armchair supporters, or fans who also enjoyed seeing other teams play was the way to go.

A small slice of a MASSIVE pie was much better for clubs than a large slice of a small pie.

The collective power of the league meant that advertisers had a much bigger reach, didn't have to align themselves with any single club, and could 'glam' up the sport via TV graphics and hype..... the rest is history.

Well done to Sky. Shame on the clubs.

Sky didn't kill it