IGNORED

English Players Have No Football Intelligence

As a basketball coach, I struggle with this 'winning is everything' mentality every week. I have to deal with players who have grown up playing the tactically-retarded games of soccer, gaelic football and hurling. They have been coached by parents with no formal training and no interest in coaching methods, technique, teamwork or tactics. All they care about when coaching their kids is winning and that mentality has become a brick wall that I continually struggle to break through.

Basketball obviously isn't football but it takes for granted many of the things progressive coaches are trying to instill into the modern footballer. It is a game based on quick thinking, well-timed bursts of speed, positioning, teamwork and technique. A smart basketballer beats a physical basketball every day of the week. Quick passing and good movement are the keys to offensive success. Trying to convince 13-year old lads that they'd be better off slowing the ball down and running a half-court offense is made all the more difficult in that they've never been given formal positional training in any sport in their lives. And heaven forbid that they defend anything but their man. It is all head down, run all day, physical nonsense that they get taught for the age of 6 at football.