IGNORED

England vs Spain

Did anyone else watch this game and think it was a very Everton-esque performance from a couple of seasons back? The way that England team was set up is pretty much what I have been screaming for, for the last two years from Moyes. It might not be pretty but its effective, and Jagielka & Lescott were immense together along with Parker in front of them. The back 4 and the midfield worked so well as a unit and suffocated Spain brilliantly, with good marking & pressing. While the back line did drop a little deep at times, as soon as they got the opportunity they tried to get as high up the pitch as possible, which something we really lack at Everton.

I will fully admit that it doesnt always produce the greatest attacking displays and that is mainly where a strong striker who can hold the ball up well comes into play, especially if he has enough pace to get in behind. For England, Bent was pretty useless at doing those things, and pretty much everyone that has seen him play will know thats not where his strengths lie, and it really hindered us getting on the ball and keeping any meaningful possession. When Welbeck came on, he offered better link up play, and while I think he should have worked a lot harder at times to win the ball back, we built better counter attacks with him on the pitch.

Phil Jones also didnt help too much in keeping possession because he isnt a natural midfielder. When he got on the ball, he didnt use it well enough, and consistently made the wrong decision, whereas Lampard more often than not, did keep hold of the ball well and had his best game for England for a long time. It was nice to see Rodwell get some minutes and he did quite well. It was impressive to see him try and burst forward to support Welbeck, as he was the only midfielder in the game to do so.